Featured image for post: Barton College Inducted 18 Students Into Alpha Chi Honor Society

Barton College Inducted 18 Students Into Alpha Chi Honor Society

WILSON, N.C. —December 19, 2017 — Barton College’s North Carolina Gamma Chapter of Alpha Chi National College Honor Society recently welcomed 18 new members into the fold during the fall 2017 induction ceremony.

Students with a grade point average of 3.5 or better in the top 10 percent of the junior and senior classes are eligible for induction. The minimum grade point average for this induction class was 3.65.

Alpha Chi is a coeducational society whose purpose is to promote academic excellence and exemplary character among college and university students and to honor those who achieve such distinction.  Its name derives from the initial letters of the Greek words meaning truth and character.

As a general honor society, Alpha Chi admits to membership students from all academic disciplines.  A member institution, which must be a regionally accredited, baccalaureate degree-granting college or university, may invite to membership no more than the top 10 percent of the junior and senior classes.

Inductees, listed by hometowns, are:

Clayton — Alyse Alexandrea Evans Goins, Master of Science in Nursing Education.

Dudley — Morgan Grace Matthews, Gerontology.

Dunn — Tyler Mayes, Business Administration (minors in Broadcast/Video Studio, Audio Recording Technology, and Honors).

Elm City — Carla Forehand Baker, Master of School Administration.

Goldsboro — Matthew J. Bieniek, Exercise Science (minor in Sport Management.

Hampstead — Charles Marr Riker V, Strategic Leadership (minor in Honors).

Puerto Ordaz, Venezuela — Vanessa Sanoja Alvarez, Mass Communications (Journalism and Public Relations Concentrations) (minors in Business  Administration and Honors).

Rocky Mount — Heather Christman, Social Work.

Richlands — Stephen Ezekiel Foy, Theatre Performance and Mass Communications (Broadcast/ Video Production Concentration).

Salisbury — Michaela Karriker, Health Promotion and Gerontology (minor in Honors).

Spring Hope — Faye Amanda Duffin, Master of Science in Nursing.

Tarboro — Sherri Lashelle Smith, Master of Science in Nursing Education; and Danielle T. Waugaman, Master of Science in Nursing.

Wilson — Sarah M. Alderman, Master of Science in Nursing; Samantha Nicole Larkin, Mass Communications (minor in Theatre); and Jennifer R. Parker, Master of School Administration.

Zebulon — Rochelle Marie Dunlop, Master of School Administration; and Brandy Renee Godwin, Political Science (Pre-Law Concentration) (minor in Honors).