Adam J. Twiss, M.F.A.

Assistant Professor of Theatre
Director of Theatre at Barton

 

B.A., Brandeis University
B.F.A., Massachusetts College of Art
M.F.A., Trinity Rep Conservatory (Rhode Island College)

Roma Hackney Music Building
ajtwiss@barton.edu | 800-345-4973 x6484

 

Adam Twiss joined the Barton faculty in 2008 as an assistant professor of theatre and director of Theatre at Barton. He has worked extensively throughout the country as a professional actor, director, producer, and educator. Most recently, Twiss has served alongside Broadway veterans Lauren Kennedy and Alan Campbell as the Associate Artistic Director of Hot Summer Nights at Theatre Raleigh, one of the regions most acclaimed theatre companies and a valuable industry partner to Barton College.

A New England native, Twiss earned his B.A. in Economics from Brandeis University in Waltham, Mass.; B.F.A. in Architectural Design from Massachusetts College of Art in Boston; and his M.F.A. in Theatre from Trinity Rep Conservatory (now Brown University/Trinity Rep) in Providence, R.I. As an NCAA soccer and ice hockey player, Twiss learned the value of teamwork, which translates into all of his efforts within the theatre – a distinctly team-oriented art form.

Twiss serves on several arts- and education-related boards and is actively involved with his children’s elementary school and sports activities in Raleigh. If you have spent any time in the Northeast (especially during baseball season), you have undoubtedly seen the mustached man by the name of W.B. Mason, a commercial character Twiss has portrayed on TV, in print, on billboards, and on the iconic yellow W.B. Mason trucks since 2001.

 
Sherry Lee Allen

Artist-in-Residence for Musical Theatre
Department of Communication and Performing Arts

Kennedy Family Theatre
800-345-4973 x6495
slallen@barton.edu

Susan C. Fecho, M.F.A.

Professor of Art
Dean, Department of Art

Case Art Building
800-345-4973 x6480
sfecho@barton.edu

Mark Gordon, M.F.A.

Associate Professor of Art
Department of Art

Case Art Building
800-345-4973 x6474
mgordon@barton.edu

Gérard Lange, M.F.A.

Associate Professor of Art
Department of Art

Case Art Building
800-345-4973 x6475
glange@barton.edu

Maureen T. O'Neill, M.F.A.

Visiting Assistant Professor
Director of Exhibitions and Education Programming
Department of Art

Case Art Building
800-345-4973 x6476
moneill@barton.edu

Richard D. Stewart, M.A.

Assistant Professor of Communications
Department of Communication and Performing Arts

Roma Hackney Music Building
800-345-4973 x6980
rstewart@barton.edu

Webster Struthers, M.A.

Associate Professor of Communications
Department of Communication and Performing Arts

Roma Hackney Music Building
800-345-4973 x6488
wstruthe@barton.edu

Adam J. Twiss, M.F.A.

Assistant Professor of Theatre
Director of Theatre at Barton
Department of Communication and Performing Arts

Roma Hackney Music Building
800-345-4973 x6484
ajtwiss@barton.edu

Philip J. Valera, M.Mus.

Assistant Professor of Communications
Department of Communication and Performing Arts

Roma Hackney Music Building
800-345-4973 x6487
pvalera@barton.edu