Barton Students Held High Profile at Phi Beta Lambda State Conference

Posted · Add Comment

WILSON, N.C. — Barton College was well represented at the 59th Annual North Carolina Phi Beta Lambda State Leadership Conference held April 11-14 in Charlotte.  Six Barton chapter members participated in a variety of competitive events and attended general sessions, regional meetings, and leadership seminars.  Approximately 300 delegates, representing 25 chapters, attended the annual conference.  First-place, second-place, and third-place winners at the state conference earned the right to compete at the National Leadership Conference to be held in Anaheim, CA, in June.

Sarah Casey, a junior from Kinston and the 2012-2013 state Eastern Region Vice President for Phi Beta Lambda, participated in all aspects of the annual state conference.  Amanda Wethington Wells, a 2010 Barton College graduate from Greenville, received the Professional Division Distinguished Service Award.

Cameron Jones, a senior from Selma, earned first place honors in Business Law. The chapter’s Annual Business Report, authored by Casey, the chapter president, also garnered first place.

The team of Casey and Francesca Del Pozo, a senior from Lima, Peru, earned second place in Business Decision Making. Also earning second place was Holly Lafond, a junior from New Bern, in Computer Applications.

Placing third were Ashley Johnson, a sophomore from Wilson, in Accounting Principles, Casey in Hospitality Management, and Kenyatta Blakeley, a freshman from Jacksonville, in Word Processing.

Johnson placed fourth in Computer Concepts and Del Pozo placed fourth in International Business. Blakeley placed fifth in Computer Applications. Lafond placed eighth in Computer Concepts.

Jones also received “Who’s Who in North Carolina Phi Beta Lambda” recognition for his outstanding contributions to North Carolina Phi Beta Lambda.

In addition to receiving the Gold Seal Award, Gold Star Chapter, and the Terry Lowrance Leadership Award, the Gamma Gamma Chapter of Barton College received recognition for its monetary contributions to state- and nationally-recommended projects.





Comments are closed.