Richard B. Groskin, Ph.D.

Professor of Criminal Justice and Criminology

 

B.A., Pennsylvania State University
M.A., Lehigh University
Ph.D., University of Maryland

Hines Hall
rgroskin@barton.edu | 800-345-4973 x6428

 

Dr. Richard Groskin has many years of experience with the phenomena of youth gangs, delinquency prevention, and terrorism to name a few areas of specialization. Groskin has led and conducted research in criminal justice and has taught many different undergraduate and graduate courses in the behavioral sciences.

Prior to moving to North Carolina, Groskin served as Director of Criminal Justice at the University of Toledo and was the Ohio State Director of the Federal Police Corps Program after a productive federal career as criminologist for the U.S. Congress.  He led Congressional oversight efforts addressing agencies and programs affecting law enforcement and the administration of justice, served as the Chief Investigator for the House Judiciary Committee’s Subcommittee on Crime, and conducted national and international investigations with the Office of Special Investigations in the U.S. General Accounting Office.

Dr. Groskin’s teaching and research activities span the field of Criminology and Criminal Justice, in which he has conducted national level studies in the field and developed and taught over 30 different courses at Barton College, the American University, University of Maryland, the Pennsylvania State University, and Lebanon Valley College. He has been engaged in research, planning, and policy in the criminal and juvenile justice field, including serving as Director of Evaluation for the State of California, Associate Director for the Research Center of the National Council on Crime and Delinquency, Director of Planning, Research, and Evaluation with the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania and the Pennsylvania Crime Commission.

Dr. Groskin’s publications include work on international undercover investigations, and he is engaged in several projects on juvenile crime prevention, youth gangs, and terrorism.

 
Julie M. Baker, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor of Psychology
School of Sciences

Hines Hall
800-345-4973 x6498
jmbaker1@barton.edu

Mark A. Basinger, Ph.D.

Associate Professor of Biology
School of Sciences

Moye Science Hall
800-345-4973 x6468
mbasinger@barton.edu

Zhixiong Cai, Ph.D.

Professor of Mathematics
School of Sciences

Moye Science Hall
800-345-4973 x6349
zcai@barton.edu

James A. Carpenter, Ph.D.

Associate Professor of Biology
School of Sciences

Moye Science Hall
800-345-4973 x6466
jacarpenter@barton.edu

R. Randall Davis, M.A.Ed.

Assistant Professor of Mathematics
School of Sciences

Moye Science Hall
800-345-4973 x6589
rdavis@barton.edu

John K. Dogbe, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor of Chemistry
School of Sciences

Moye Science Hall
800-345-4973 x6471
jkdogbe@barton.edu

Edward M. Fernandes, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor of Psychology
School of Sciences

Hines Hall
800-345-4973 x6497
efernandes@barton.edu

Ashley B. Gardner, M.A.

Visiting Instructor of Psychology
School of Sciences

Hines Hall
800-345-4973 x6365
abgardner@barton.edu

Richard B. Groskin, Ph.D.

Professor of Criminal Justice and Criminology
School of Sciences

Hines Hall
800-345-4973 x6428
rgroskin@barton.edu

Jane M. Kolunie, Ph.D.

Professor of Biology
School of Sciences

Moye Science Hall
800-345-4973 x6470
jkolunie@barton.edu

Kevin N. Pennington, Ph.D.

Associate Professor of Biology
Dean, School of Sciences

Moye Science Hall
800-345-4973 x6467
knpennington@barton.edu

Murali K. Ranganathan, Ph.D.

Professor of Mathematics
School of Sciences

Moye Science Hall
800-345-4973 x6347
mrangana@barton.edu

William A. Wallace, Ph.D.

Associate Professor of Chemistry
School of Sciences

Moye Science Hall
800-345-4973 x6469
bwallace@barton.edu